Joignez notre réseau social

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Contact

Par téléphone: 613-236-8070

Par courriel

393 Avenue Piccadilly Nord

Ottawa, ON, K1Y 0H3

À PROPOS DE NOUS

Les résidents, hommes et femmes, peuvent se considérer chez eux à Daybreak depuis 1982. Ces gens ont souvent de la difficulté à se trouver des loyers à prix abordables et peuvent aussi souffrir de problèmes tels que la santé mentale, le processus de désintoxication, la fuite de situations d’abus et le manque d’habileté à gérer leurs vies.

L’HISTOIRE DE DAYBREAK

Le point de départ du logement Daybreak est basé sur la compassion. En 1980, le Révérend Percival met sur pied un groupe d’étude comprenant plusieurs églises du centre-ville d’Ottawa, dont Bell Street United, St. Luke’s Anglican, Mcphail Baptist, Knox Presbyterian, Christ Roi Catholique, St. Jean Baptiste Catholique et Mcleod-Stewarton United. Leur inquiétudes vis-à-vis le nombre de personnes qui éprouvent des difficultés financières ne pouvant se payer un logement abordable les incitent à former Daybreak Non-Profit Shelter (Ecumenical) Corporation en 1982. Le Révérend Percival fut le premier président de la Corporation et est connu plus tard sous le nom de « Père Daybreak ». Le nom Daybreak est choisi pour représenter un renouveau dans la vie des résidents qui peuvent compter sur un logement abordable et confortable.

 

Daybreak a ouvert sa première maison en avril 1983 grâce à un financement de la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement. Composée de 8 chambres, c’était initialement un foyer pour femmes mais en 1985, il a été converti en foyer pour hommes. En Septembre 1983, on y ajoute une autre maison de 10 chambres pour hommes. En 1985, les communautés desservies par St. George’s Anglican, St. Andrew's Presbyterian and Dominion Chalmers United Churches se joignent ensemble pour appuyer la mission de Daybreak et on ouvre une troisième maison grâce à un bail de longue durée de St. George et du Diocèse anglican (maintenant St Peter’s et St Paul’s, membres du Conseil des Églises anglicanes du Canada).

Notre quatrième maison fut un don de Mme Mary Murphy. Grâce à l’apport de capital fourni par la province, la maison ouvre en 1990 avec 5 chambres pour hommes et deux appartements indépendants à une chambre.

 

En septembre 2001 nous ouvrons notre cinquième maison en partenariat avec la Société de logement communautaire d’Ottawa (anciennement City Living) et les Sœurs Grises de l’Immaculée Conception. Ceci devient possible avec un apport supplémentaire de financement du Homeless Initiative Fond provincial, et de l’Initiative de partenariats en action communautaire du gouvernement fédéral. Cet édifice offre 12 chambres pour femmes ce qui augmente la capacité de Daybreak de 38 pour cent. D’ici 2022, notre vision prévoit une augmentation de la capacité de 50% avec appartements studios et des unités d’une chambre à coucher. 

La maire Marion Dewar ouvre notre première maison en 1983.

(De gauche à droite) : Margaret Singleton (City Living), Sœur Rita Kehoe (Les Sœurs grises de l’Immaculée Conception), Monica Siengenthaler, (ancienne directrice générale) Résident et Elizabeth Arnold, Conseillère du secteur Ward

Get Social

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Contact

Call Us: 613-236-8070

Email Us

393 Piccadilly Ave North

Ottawa, ON, K1Y 0H3

ABOUT US

Since 1982, Daybreak Housing has been a place to call home for men and women who not only have difficulty finding affordable housing but also struggle with issues such as mental health, recovery from addictions, escaping abusive situations and limited life skills.

DAYBREAK HISTORY

Daybreak Housing had its beginnings in compassion. In 1980, deeply disturbed about the quality of life and how desperate these men and women felt about their situation, Reverend Percival brought together a study group from a number of churches in downtown Ottawa, including Bell Street United, St. Luke's Anglican, McPhail Baptist, Knox Presbyterian, Christ Roi Catholique, St. Jean Baptiste Catholique and McLeod-Stewarton United. Their concerns about the number of people in need of financial assistance led to the establishment of the Daybreak Non-Profit Shelter (Ecumenical) Corporation in 1982. Reverend Percival was the first president of the corporation and later became known as 'Father Daybreak.' . The name 'Daybreak' was chosen to signify a new beginning in life for the residents who benefit from our safe, affordable, comfortable housing.

 

Daybreak Housing opened its first house in April, 1983 with funding from the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. With eight rooms, it was initially a home for women, but in 1985 was converted to men. In September 1983 another 10 rooms for men were added. In 1985, the communities of St. George's Anglican, St. Andrew's Presbyterian and Dominion Chalmers United Churches joined in supporting Daybreak's mission and a third house opened on a long-term lease with St. George's and the Anglican Diocese. (Now St Peter’s and St Paul’s, members of the Canadian Anglican Council of Churches)

 

Our fourth house was donated by Mrs. Mary Murphy. Thanks to capital funding from what the province, it opened in January, 1990, with five rooms for men and two self-contained one-bedroom apartments.

 

In September, 2001 in partnership with City Living (now Ottawa Community Housing) and the Grey Sisters of the Immaculate Conception, and with additional funding from the provincial Homelessness Initiatives Fund and the federal government's Supporting Communities Partnerships Initiatives, our fifth location was born. This building offers 12 rooms for women and increased Daybreak's capacity by 38 per cent. By 2022, our vision will see capacity increase by 50% with self-contained bachelor and one-bedroom units.

Mayor Marion Dewar opens our first house in 1983.

L-R: Margaret Singleton (City Living), Sr. Rita Kehoe
(The Grey Sisters of the Immaculate Conception),
Monica Siengenthaler, (Past Executive Director)
Tenant, and Somerset Ward Councillor Elizabeth Arnold